Access Control - Standard tab

Parent Previous Next

The standard security is the main access control option where you may create users, set or change their passwords, e-mail addresses, disable users or delete users. On this Standard Security screen, you may also allow or restrict access to the main functions, i.e. System Setup, Global Processes and the Bank Reconciliation.

Should you restrict a user to specific functions, all the menu items will be displayed by default. These menu options to which the user has no access, will be displayed as inactive (greyed out). You may select to hide these inactive menu options. The user will then only see those menu options which he / she is allowed to access.

In addition to this access control facility in TurboCASH, you may also set and configure the passwords for your operating system and / or network.

To Create a User Password and Set Standard Security Options:

1.Click on the Setup → System parameters → Access Control menu.

The Access Control screen is displayed:

2.Click on the Add button to create a User. An icon, will be displayed in the Users field or area of the screen.

3.Right-click on the New User0 icon and select the Rename option on the context menu to change the name. Enter the name for this user. The user's name will be displayed next to the Username field.

4.Enter a Password and E-mail address (optional) for this user and select the access levels for this user.

5.Select to allow or restrict a user to System Setup (Preferences and System parameters), Global Processes (Clear / Reset a Set of Books, Do Year End, Reverse (Cancel) Posted Batches / Documents and to Copy from a Set of Books) and accessing the Bank Reconciliation. (You may press the Spacebar on your keyboard to select or deselect an option).

6.Click on the Apply button to save the changes for this user.

7.Repeat the process if you have more than one user. Once finished, click on the tabs, to set the access levels for each selected user.

8.Once finished, click on the Close button to exit the Access Control screen.

You may select the specific options for which you wish to restrict that user by removing the tick for the specific option the user may not access. You may move down the options with the Down Arrow or Up Arrow keys and toggle between a tick and a blank in the tick box fields with the Spacebar on your keyboard, or select it with the mouse and click on the box you want to select or deselect.

It is recommended that at least one User (Default User or System Administrator) should have no restrictions on the System Setup.

If you disable some menu or access options for a user, you may select to hide disabled menu items, If this option is not selected, any disabled menu items, (e.g. system setup, global processes, reconciliation, reports, edit accounts, etc.) will be displayed as an inactive option (greyed out).

User icons are displayed as follows:

- indicates that all functions are allowed to that user.

- some functions or security options are restricted or disabled.

Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Easy EPub and documentation editor