Access Control

Previous Next

This option allows you to set the security options for a specific Set of Books, your users, their passwords, e-mail addresses and access levels to restrict the users to perform specific functions.

Access Control may be used on installing TurboCASH on a single machine.

Some functions for persons (not using the multi-user license) are:

Creating and changing passwords

Customise / Configure Document Processing:

oAdd the Posting and Delete buttons to the Document Listing screen

oActivate the Read-only Tax in Documents

Customise Setup Groups - Deselect (remove ticks) for Groups that you do not wish to be listed when accessing the Setup → System parameters → Groups menu. For example, if you do not want / need to use Cost Centres or Projects (Status Groups), etc., you may deselect these not to display on the Groups Setup.

Activate Cost Centers in Documents - This will allow you to select Cost Center when selecting stock items in documents

Multi-User Calendar Plugin -

You may also create a password for one user only (which has all the access levels) if you have no other users. Once you have entered (or set a password), the Set of Books in which you have set up the password can only be accessed when a valid password is entered, unless the user with the system function deletes all the passwords.

If you need to send reports and documents via e-mail, you need to enter a valid e-mail address on at least any of the following menu options before you can set up and configure TurboCASH for the Internet:

Setup → System parameters → Company Info - E-mail field, or;

Setup → System parameters → Access Control menu to create a user and enter a valid e-mail address.

You may have as many users to work on a Set of Books as you wish. You may set differing functions for each user. If any of the users enter a valid password, that user will only be able to access those functions you have allocated to that user. The disabled functions will be inactive on the menu options and speed toolbar for that user.

By default, Access Control to all the functions in a Set of Books is allowed when you create a user. To restrict a user from certain or specific functions, you simply have to deselect (remove the tick) from the option, function or feature you do not wish that user to have access to. The access control options, functions or features are as follows:

Standard Security - Allow or restrict a user to System Setup (Preferences and System parameters), Global Processes (Clear / Reset a Set of Books, Do Year End, Transfer Transactions, and to Update the Server) and complete a Bank Reconciliation.

Reports Access - Allow or restrict a user to print or view Creditor Reports, Debtor Reports, General Ledger Reports, Stock Reports or User Reports.

Batches Access - Allow or restrict a user from Posting Batches and / or Updating Documents to the Ledger, to enter transactions in Batches (Journals) or to create and edit Documents (Invoices, Purchases, Credit Notes and Supplier Returns). If you allow a user to enter transactions in Batches (Journals), you may restrict a user from accessing and processing transactions in batches (journals). For example, if you have a Petty Cashier, you may allow that person to only access the Petty Cash Payments Journal; the Cashier only has access to process receipts in the Receipts Journal, etc. In addition to this, you may also restrict or block a user from accessing specific accounts.

Others - Allow or restrict the user from access to create, edit or delete master files, such as General Ledger Accounts, Debtor Accounts, Creditor Accounts, Bank Accounts and / or Stock Items, set the mode for the user and link the user to a salesperson. You may select to restrict the selected user from updating (posting) documents to the ledger and/or set customised limitations.

Documents -

Groups - Deselect (remove ticks) for Groups that you do not wish to be listed when accessing the Setup → System parameters → Groups menu. For example, if you do not want / need to use Cost Centres or Projects (Status Groups), etc., you may deselect these not to display on the Groups Setup.

Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Create iPhone web-based documentation